Thursday, November 5, 2009


The New York Yankees defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-3 to win their 27th World Series title.

Yankee starter Andy Pettitte went five and two thirds innings on short rest and gave up three runs, two on a home run by Phillies slugger Ryan Howard. The bullpen of Joba Chamberlain, Damaso Marte, and closer Mariano Rivera pitched scoreless baseball the rest of the way.

Yankee DH Hideki Matsui slugged a two run homer, a two run double, and a two run single, to tie Bobby Richardson for most RBI's in a single World Series game (1960, Yankees).

The Yankee Core of Four- Mariano Rivera, Derek Jeter, Jorge Posada, and and Andy Pettitte won their fifth World title as teammates (1996, 1998-2000, 2009).

Hideki Matsui was named the MVP of the Series, the first full time DH to win the trophy.

Alex Rodriguez is on a World Series winner for the first time in his Hall of Fame career.

The New Yankee Stadium- the "New House"- is now a home.

Click for BOX SCORE.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails